Joe’s

Joe’s guest house strangely registers less in my memory than some other places I later stayed. It was however my first guest house on the Kaosarn strip. Joes could and still to this day can be found on the little alley that runs adjacent to Kaosarn. Joes at that time had a number of rooms in a kind of garden the rooms were like little bungalows and in the centre there were some tables to sit and share tales of travel. Well I got myself into one of those musty rooms complete with no internal water. It was a communal shower for me. I decided then that Joes was not for me and that the next day I would move on. At that time it was shower and rest. The shower was thankfully deserted except for me, and I enjoyed a chance to for the first time in hours to feel something except sticky. After showering it was back to the room. I needed rest, but oddly no sleep came. I passed a few hours reading until it had been dark for some time. Restless in a heat I was not used to I decided to head out. I was hungry, inquisitive and irritable.

Leave a comment